Kwani? Series
To See The Mountain And Other Stories

Kwani? Series

To See The Mountain And Other Stories

Author: Various
Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 978-9966-1598-0-9
Size of book: 198mm x 129mm
Price: ksh600 ($17)
Year of Publication: 2011

The Caine Prize for African Writing is named in celebration of the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc, who was Chairman of the 'Africa 95' arts festival in Europe and Africa in 1995 and for nearly 25 years, Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee. The Prize is open to writers from anywhere in Africa for work published in English and focuses on the short story, awarding a prize of £10,000. The judging of stories is done by a panel of judges, selected annually.

The 2011 judges panel was chaired by award-winning Libyan novelist Hisham Matar. Joining him were Granta deputy editor Ellah Allfrey, Georgetown University Professor of English David Gewanter, publisher, film and travel writer Vicky Unwin, and the award-winning author Aminatta Forna.

126 qualifying stories were submitted from 17 African countries and the panel announced the following 5 authors for the shortlist:

  • NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe), Hitting Budapest
  • Beatrice Lamwaka (Uganda), Butterfly Dreams
  • Tim Keegan (South Africa), What Molly Knew
  • Lauri Kubuitsile (Botswana), In the Spirit of McPhineas Lata
  • David Medalie (South Africa), The Mistress's Dog
  • You can read the above stories on the Caine Prize website.

This anthology is a co-publishing arrangement between The Caine Prize for African Writing, New Internationalist, Cassava Republic in Nigeria, Jacana Media in South Africa and Kwani Trust in Kenya.

Book Order Form

Fields marked * are required

* Your name:
* E-mail address:
* Quantity: