Kwani Trust - Supporting African Literature
Contact Us
:: Kwani? 3
:: Kwani? 2
:: Kwani? 1
:: Discovering home
:: Beyond River Yei
:: Merchandise
:: What is Kwani?
:: Achievements
:: Kwani reviews
:: Join our mailing list
:: Important Links
:: Contact us

:: Wole Soyinka Prize for literature

The maiden edition of Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa, is slated to take place on the 5th of August, 2006, in a soon to be announced venue in Lagos. The $20,000 prize money is meant to be clinched by a book written by an African writer at home or abroad, in any genres of literature.

The book to be submitted must have been published within two years, preceding the year of the prize being sought for but not during the year of the prize being sought for. For instance, the maiden prize will be given in 2006, any book published between January 1, 2004 and December 31st 2005 will be accepted. But any book published in 2006 will not qualify for this maiden edition. It will qualify for the next edition of the prize. (Note that for this first edition, we are allowing works published as far back as 2003 provided that it has not won any local or international prize). Among other things to be observed for entry for the prize are: Seven copies of each eligible book should be submitted by the Publisher. Books can only be submitted by Publishers.


Wole Soyinka

Only published works are eligible and can only be submitted in its published form.
For a book to be eligible, it must be written either in English or French.
The publisher must not submit more than three titles. This could be from either the same author or different authors.

The Publisher may submit either paperback or hard cover, along with author’s photo and resume.

Only African authors living in any part of the world are eligible for this prize. By African authors, we mean authors from African countries. We are adopting for the purpose of this prize, the geographical description of African countries and their boundaries. In other words, only citizens of African countries are considered eligible for this prize.

Books published anywhere in the world may qualify for this award provided that they are written by Africans.

Books that have won other awards are not eligible for this prize.

The Foundation began to receive entries from November 2005. All entries must be received at Temporary office: No 8 Aderibigbe Street, opposite Custom, by Ajayi Busstop, Yaba, Lagos. (yellow house) P.O. Box: 3165, Sabo, Yaba, Lagos.


The short listed books will be reproduced by The Lumina Foundation to make them more affordable and available.

The prize is being implemented by The Lumina Foundation and its eminent Trustees. The Lumina Foundation is a (duly) registered, non governmental, non profit oriented organization which deals mainly with knowledge dissemination, book writing and enlightenment projects and the Trustees are eminent men and women of honour.

<< Books Home | Kwani Home >>

:: 1982
:: Discovering Home
:: Comrade Lemma and the Jerusalem Boys Band
:: Blood & 100% human hair
:: The Applications
:: The Deed
:: Transitions
:: Weight of Whispers
:: Thoughts and Remembrances
:: The Stone Hills of Maragoli
:: Pick an institution
:: Pattni poem
:: The smasher
:: Fragile
:: Afrikan Kween

© Kwani Trust 2006
Suite 1S, 1st Floor Madonna House, (Opposite Soin Arcade)
Westlands Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
P. O. Box 2895, Nairobi 00100.
Phone Number : 254-020 4451383
Email :